review · Uncategorized

Review – Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Goodreads rating: 4.24 stars
Published: 2012 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Synopsis
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Ps. Spoilers up ahead!

Thoughts
At the start of this book I was actually a bit hesitant toward Celaena. I didn’t really like her character that much and earlier I have been so disappointed by hype surrounding other popular YA books. As the story went on though, I found myself liking Celaena more and more, especially as we get to see more of her personality and character.

Also, I was really skeptical about her romance with Chaol and Dorian. I disliked Dorian when I was first introduced to him and he seemed like this standard stuck-up snob of a prince, but as the story moved on I liked him more and more. Not my favorite character but far from the worst! The romance between Dorian and Celaena did grow a bit on me and I found it understandable, if not cute at the end of the book. I mean, I was just happy it wasn’t insta-love.

Lastly I’m just gonna mention the friendship between Celaena and Nehemia. It was magical and amazing to watch a friendship like theirs grow. I have never read a female friendship quite like theirs and it was so fabulous. 5/5 would recommend. Absolutely loved it. Also, the magical creatures and the wyrdmarks were really cool. I’m really curious as to where that will go in future book! Hopefully there will be a lot more of it.

All in all I liked the fantasy elements, loved the female friendship/s (if we count Elena heh) and I’m definitely gonna read the sequel!

My rating: 3.75/5 stars

Until next time!

Sources: 1
More reviews: X

Leave a Reply

