T5W

Top 5 Wednesday

Hi and welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday!

I thought I would be able to post at least a few new posts before this one, but work’s been a pain in my ass since I’ve worked for 3 weeks straight now. But anyways, here I am and let’s get to it!

This week’s topic is:

“Books that took you the longest to finish”

5. Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead

About 7 months. I think the reason it took so long is a mixture of me being in the longest reading slump of my life. I mean the slump lasted a year and I was barely able to read without pushing myself to finish books, so yeah. But lately I’ve been really getting out of the slump and it feels like a big burden off my shoulders. Btw, the ending ruined me and I don’t know how I will ever be okay after this.

 

4. The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors of all time and I feel almost ashamed that it took me about a year or so to finish this. In the end I was so sick of it sitting on my shelf unread, so I switched between studying for my drivers test and reading a chapter and it worked like a well oiled machine. I mean I could barely wait for the next chapter while I was studying in between.

 

3. A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin

I just finished this book a few months back. I was so proud you have no idea after having this book hang over me for a good two years. It felt SO good to finally finish this and put it in my ‘read’ pile. Also, I stopped watching the TV show when it started catching up with where I was in this series so to finally be able to watch Game of Thrones again was GREAT.

 

2. Area 7 by Matthew Reilly

This is another book that I recently finished. I think it took me about 3 ish years to finish it. These books are packed with so much information and action that I think I was a bit overwhelmed by it. Having finished it I don’t regret one bit of it though. Great book.

 

1. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

The number one. The main slump. This book took me about 3 1/2 – 4 years to finish. I don’t think I was really in the mood for it when I started and I just let it hang over me, reading a few pages, putting it down, reading a bit more months later. All in all I enjoyed this book when i finished it, but I think my view of it might be a bit tainted by how long it took me to finish it. I have the sequel and the last book in this trilogy and I will read it, but it’s not in my immediate tbr.


 

So that’s it for Top 5 Wednesday this week. This Top 5 was actually really fun to do ’cause I have a TON of books that have taken me a long time to read. I mean the smallest on this list is 7 months. Heh. Anyways, I hope you liked this as much as I did and what books took you the longest to read? I would love to know so leave a comment down below and I’ll see you in my next post!

Until next time guys!

Leave a Reply

